Growing Up

I’ve done a lot of growing up this year. I guess by year I mean school year (I’m still not used to the year not actually starting in September), so I guess I haven’t done THAT much growing up. But I’ve done some. Or maybe it’s just that I feel quite overwhelmed with all of the things that need doing. But I feel like that’s part of what growing up is about – becoming responsible for more things. Or maybe it’s more than that, because even a child could be given the responsibility to do a large number of things. But a child isn’t able to keep track of all those things and make sure that they get done. Though sometimes I feel like I’m not able to either.

 

But for the most part I can. Yet on days like today it feels like my head is spinning with all the things that I need to get done. I have a calendar of appointments; a list of To Do’s; and a few papers and other tasks scattered around that are always in the back of my head, and which receive my attention every once in a while. There’s got to be an easier way to do this, doesn’t there? I get a bit worried sometimes that I’m going to forget something and it’s going to slip through the cracks.

 

It feels good. It feels good to be productive. But it’s really difficult sometimes. Any longtime practitioners of the art of adulthood have some sage advice for the newbie?

 

P.S. This is the first time in recent memory that I’ve written a post before Sunday. Booyah! <–mark of a kid at heart

2 Comments

  1. What you are describing is just like “mom-brain”. The constant to-dos and appointments, and chores, meals to be made, etc etc etc. My best advice is to have a great day-timer that you keep out at all times. My favorite is the “Polestar Family planner” because it has space for appointments, space for meals, space for stuff to do at home, plus list space for “To Do” and “To Buy” – all of these are for each week. It’s geared towards families, but it could help.
    Also, write down stuff as soon as you think of it. I make the mistake of thinking, “Oh yeah, I’ll remember that…” and then I don’t.

    • Ya, those are good suggestions, and I basically do that already.

      I was hoping there was some secret to getting stuff done that I was missing.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Flickr

    RedbuddWordpressWordle1

    More Photos
  • Delicious links I'm looking at

  • If you have a site you would like to see reviewed on this blog, drop me a line, or connect with my Diigo account.