Musings on Travel

This weekend I had the privilege of flying out to Calgary to visit my sister and her family, something I have now been able to do twice in two years. As always, seeing everyone was a lot of fun. Special highlights include playing on playgrounds with my nephew and ni (niece plural) and playing a LOT of board games.

 

One thing in particular that was special about this trip was seeing my old English/Drama teacher from high school. It had been 7 years since I last saw her, and I was blown away by how much I had forgotten and how much I remembered. In particular, I just wanted to give her a shout-out here and let her know how amazing I think she is. PH, the way you can so effortlessly find the amazing-ness in people is really remarkable. You are motherliness incarnate. It was great seeing you, and next time I’m in town, I’ll be sure to drop by again.

 

To change gears completely, I wanted to talk briefly about my trip to Calgary. It started with a very early morning wake up.

 

There’s something strangely magical about the wee hours of the morning. Maybe magical isn’t quite right – more like other-worldly. In any other circumstance, being up at 4am is a rude awakening and a soporific foreshadowing of a sleep deprived day ahead. But for some reason, when I enter the early morn with purpose, it takes on a whole new feeling. It almost feels like a privilege – having an excuse to be softly padding around the city while everyone around me is silently unaware.

 

It ruins the mood a little, but I also found that being around what are normally busy intersections at those early hours reminded me very strongly of post-apocalyptic/zombie movies.

 

Such are my jet-lagged musings.

3 Comments

  1. Love the essay! Great writing here, Nate.

  2. AHHHH – I loves you Budd! You made my day! I, too, thought your visit made my weekend so special and you took me back to great times! I am so proud of the amazing man you’ve grown into – although you were always amazing! Even as a geeky Grade 9 boy in a ketchup shirt and matching ball cap! Thanks for taking the trek. Next time – date in the mountains!

    Here are the blog from my Grade 11 AP (20) and Grade 12 classes!
    http://hunniblog30.edublogs.org/
    http://hunniblog.edublogs.org/

  3. Thanks Big Sister!

    And thanks Pam! I can’t believe you found my blog! I was going to send you a message to let you know about my little shout out to you.

    Well I’m glad you found it, and I’m also glad you gave me the links to your class blogs, because I was going to ask you for them. Let Nickrat know that I liked his essay on Shawshank Redemption, which is one of my favourite movies ever. But I think he’s viewing it too negatively. Andy doesn’t resign himself to fate, he just chooses to see only the good in an unchangeable situation. He hasn’t given in – he’s actually more hardened against prison than anyone else there, because he’s the only one who still has hope in a completely hopeless place.

    “I could see why some of the boys took him for snobby. He had a quiet way about him, a walk and a talk that just wasn’t normal around here. He strolled, like a man in a park without a care or a worry in the world, like he had on an invisible coat that would shield him from this place. Yeah, I think it would be fair to say… I liked Andy from the start.”


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Flickr

    RedbuddWordpressWordle1

    More Photos
  • Delicious links I'm looking at

  • If you have a site you would like to see reviewed on this blog, drop me a line, or connect with my Diigo account.