Goals

So I had this goal when I started this blog, or shortly after starting it. WordPress had a ton of stuff re new years resolutions for blogs: writing every day or writing every week. I took up the challenge. I tried. I was very ambitious, and the time I had my blog focused on new online things that I would ‘review.’ But that was back when I had free time. Back when I was a bus boy and was trying to fill the rest of my days with… something. I kept the ball rolling for a good long while, but truth be told, I think I’ve been faking it for most of the time. I decided when I started that the week would begin on Sundays, and for a while, I would write my posts on Friday or Saturday.

It didn’t take long for the habit of “oh crap, it’s Sunday and I haven’t written anything!” to carve out its own groove. And yet, I tried to keep it up, even with this slightly shifted, one-post-missing “Post a Week 2011 challenge” goal. But I think it’s time to face facts. I’m now writing on Monday, and my blog no longer has any focus besides being a writing outlet for myself. Not necessarily a bad thing, but certainly not what I started with.

Maybe goals are good for more than just completing. I think they can be good for other things too. That goal, thought not successful in getting me to write every week, has set me on a roughly once-a-week pace. I enjoy writing, but it’s never been something I enjoyed being forced to do. I like to do it at me leisure.

I suppose some goals can also be good for not completing at all. It forces you to try something out that you might not otherwise do. If you don’t like it, fine. You gave it a shot, and now you know.

And on the topic of goals, I just got my Sketchbook Project 2012 sketchbook a few days ago. I haven’t done visual arts lately, so this will be… interesting. I’m excited to try it though.

1 Comment

  1. I didn’t know you were joining! The girls just received theirs today, too!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Flickr

  • Delicious links I'm looking at

  • If you have a site you would like to see reviewed on this blog, drop me a line, or connect with my Diigo account.