RyeAds.com – A Little Bit of Payoff

After my first week back in class, I’m exhausted. For various reasons I’ve been staying up later than I should have, and then waking up very early to make it to class on time. I was going to reward myself tonight with an early bedtime and a late sleep-in, but I think the early bedtime will have to wait.

Just before I was about to hop into bed, I checked on my Google Analytics and saw a slight increase in the number of visitors that RyeAds.com has been getting this week. This was pretty cool. I hadn’t checked the site out for a few days, and didn’t expect to see a jump at all. I had an interview with the Eyeopener, one of Ryerson’s school papers, and I had made an announcement to my fellow Aerospace Engineering students, but that’s it.

Then I checked my email account (where I can now receive feedback messages from RyeAds), and saw that I received two messages from new users! One was a lovely comment on the visitor’s appreciation for the site, and the other, was feedback on some display issues (for some reason, the site doesn’t display well on Internet Explorer – I’m gonna have to fix this soon).

 

In addition to that, RyeAds.com was mentioned in the Ryerson Today Bulletin today! And, after checking the back end of the site, I’ve also found that there a little over 20 ads on the site now! Hopefully this trend continues!

*For those of you just tuning in, I am speaking of a labour of love I worked on this summer called RyeAds.com. It’s a Ryerson University-specific classified ads website. Only someone with a ryerson.ca email can post an ad there, but anyone on the web can view and reply to them. Currently, it’s most popular category is for used text books, but there are also some ads under electronics, tutoring, and Groups & Services.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Flickr

  • Delicious links I'm looking at

  • If you have a site you would like to see reviewed on this blog, drop me a line, or connect with my Diigo account.